Sewing Entertainment

Sewing is such an enjoyable activity, but I find it hard to sit in silence for the long periods of time that I usually spend in my sewing space. My favorite way to fill the quiet void is to listen to podcasts. Podcasts,  and audiobooks, are a great way to keep your mind busy while working on something. Growing up, my parents listened to talk radio pretty frequently (definitely every time we were in the car!). I think this has been a big influence on my love of podcasts.

Today I want to share with you a few of my favorite podcasts to listen to.

Serial

I feel adding Serial to the list is fairly cliché, but it seriously awakened my love of listening to stories! Before Serial, I was a fair weather fan of podcasts. I would listen to them here and there but never consistently. Then, I heard all the buzz about Serial and decided to give it a try. I’m a big true crime/mystery fan so I figured it would be right up my alley. Sarah Keonig is a WONDERFUL story teller. The story of the Murder of Hae Min Lee and conviction of Adnan Syed leaves so much room for speculation and deep discussion, it’s no wonder it became so popular. One of the other benefits of serial is that there are so many podcasts about this podcasts that you could probably listen for a few weeks straight.

This American Life

This American Life is the parent podcast of Serial, so it makes sense that I would enjoy this one as well. Each week they feature groups of stories of real life around a certain theme. TAL has been around for many years, so on their website you will find LOTS of old episodes to listen to. The quality and story telling in each episode is great. It is a very diverse podcast with many different topics. With the variety they bring, there’s an episode for everybody!

Seamwork Radio

Naturally, I have a sewing related podcast on my list. Seamwork is run by the team at Colette Patterns. They only release one episode a month, but are very much work the wait. In each episode they interview someone about their journey with sewing. It’s a very thoughtful approach to the act of sewing. I am normally very action oriented with my sewing, usually concerned with getting on to the next step and finishing a project. This podcast though reminds me to step back and think about the bigger picture of what I’m doing and why I love to sew.

The Black Tapes

My last podcast for today is The Black Tapes. Normally I like to listen to non-fiction work, but this fictional podcast is a great story. It’s a little dark, delving into the world of paranormal experiences. Along with my love of true crime, I also enjoy a little dark entertainment. There have been a few nights where I have been listening to this and got a few chills. It’s amazing how listening to a story can make your imagination run wild!

Do you like to listen to Podcasts? What are your favorites?

2 thoughts on “Sewing Entertainment

  1. I haven’t heard of Black Tapes! I will certainly check it out.
    I also enjoy listening to podcasts while sewing. It is such a great way to learn something new and be entertained without being very distracted. I also really like – Dear Sugar Radio, The Truth, Strangers and Criminal.

    Like

Leave a Reply

